White Knight

Fight for me.
But not against other suitors
for pride and glory and a prize at the end.
Not so much with sword in hand
to fight against the dangers in the world.

Fight to make it work,
fight the fears we have
that make us fight
when we really want to
hold each other.
Fight to stay when things get hard.

Let’s fight the worst in us
and the lame is us
that keep us from loving
the way we should.

Fight the sadness
that threatens my heart
that comes from the world,
or you, or me.

That’s the only kind of fight
I really want.

 

Written 2018

 

If you’d like to share \/

White Knight is a poem by Lara Rouse

2 Comments

  1. Very relatable!
    I shared this on my twitter page
    Good Job!

    Like

    1. lara4444 says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad you liked it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.